Volunteer

GIVE AN HOUR. GIVE A DAY. GIVE YOUR BEST.

UNITED WAY OF MARION COUNTY HAS A CRITICAL NEED FOR READINGPALS VOLUNTEERS.
 
We all have special talents. Things we can do to help, and when we reach out a hand to one, we influence the condition of all. Whether it's preparing school readiness kits for hard-working families or helping to improve neighborhoods, there are many volunteer options available in Marion County. So give the gift of you. Volunteer.
 
Why Volunteer?
Volunteering is a great way to make a hands-on difference in your community. People volunteer for many reasons: feeling compassion for others in need, wanting to "give back" and being passionate about the issues facing our community. Whether it is important to you to improve lives in the community by advancing the common good or simply personal development, volunteering offers an opportunity to LIVE UNITED by engaging in our community. Volunteering can help you:
  • Make important networking contacts
  • Learn or develop skills
  • Teach your skills to others
  • Enhance your resume
  • Gain valuable work experience
  • Build self-esteem and self-confidence
  • Meet new people
  • Give back for help you may have received in the past
  • Encourage others to foster community responsiblity
  • Make a difference in someone's life
 
Whatever your reason, United Way of Marion County is dedicated to providing a wide variety of resources and options for you to get involved.
 
Click to see a list of opportunities available:
 
Agency Contact  Phone Email
United Way of Marion County Cathy Truesdale (352) 732-9696 x214 ctruesdale@uwmc.org
Boys & Girls Club of Marion County April Savarese (352) 690-7519 asavarese@bgcofmarion.com
Brother's Keeper Jason Halstead (352) 622-3846  
Center for Independent Living Terri Poucher (352) 378-7474 x36 terri@cilncf.org
Children's Home Society Barbara Solomon (352) 732-1355 barbara.solomon@chsfl.org
Community of Gratitude Linda Kafader (352) 288-3499 cog.director@gmail.com
Creative Services/Domestic Violence Shelter Chris Azar (352) 351-4009 x107 volunteer@ocalacsi.com
Early Learning Coalition Beatriz Montalvo (352) 369-2315 x211 bmontalvo@elc-marion.org
Episcopal Children's Services Kelly Rogers (352) 512-9027 krogers@ecs4kids.org
Florida Center for the Blind Taylor Gambrel (352) 873-4700 tgambrel@flblind.org
Habitat for Humanity Brittney Fish (352) 351-4663 bfish@habitatocala.org
Hope Outreach Help Center Rose or Kim (352) 502-1495 rosev@rosevidal.com
Interfaith Emergency Services Tina Reid (352) 629-8868 tina.reid@iesmarion.org
Kid's Central, Inc. Jessica Cole (352) 274-2817 volunteer@kidscentralinc.org
Kimberly's Center for Child Protection Brittany Cecil 352-873-4739 brittanyc@kimberlyscenter.org
Marion County Literacy Council Summer Gill (352) 690-7323 summer@marionliteracy.org
Marion Senior Services Mary Jury (352) 620-3501 x155  
Marion Therapeutic Riding Association Leslie Gettys (352) 732-7300 volunteer@mtraocala.org
Pace Center for Girls Suzy Heinbockel (352) 369-0571 marion@pacecenter.org
The Salvation Army Shirley Hsu (352) 629-2004 x306 shirley.hsu@uss.salvationarmy.org
Shepherd's Lighthouse Yolanda East (352) 347-6575 shepherdlight@aol.comm
Unbridled Hope Equine Therapy Brenda Corujo (352) 425-0709 unbridledhopeequine@hofyr.org